top of page

Today



How high we esteem the future...


All the plans, the dreams. We can’t wait for this, or that. We imagine we’ll do so many things, as if we had all the time in the world. Well, it is indeed hard to imagine it all ending. We haven’t experienced anything similar. Therefor, we feel we’re gonna be young and live here forever. And we just can’t wait for all the cool things we’ll do. One day.


Oh, but how low we esteem the present...


We waste our todays. But todays are all we have. We don’t have big plans for now, we’re busy, caught in urgent things that need our attention. Then, we’re also hypnotised by distractions, by all the dopamine rushes of notifications, and we go to them to forget our lack of meaning, purpose, our continuous stream of worries, health and family problems.


.


I don't want today to be my last day. I want to get to do all the things I’ve planned! And I will do them at some point... But today I gotta go to school, to work, to a concert, out with friends. I’ll also be on my phone for quite some time, watching some stories, reels, maybe a movie, or a few youtube videos, then take a nap, cause my eyes hurt and I've also went to sleep late last night. Then I’ll make myself something to eat, have dinner... and there goes my today. It’s not what I want to do. Yet it’s what I do.


.


Challenge: What do you really, truly, deeply want from your life?


What would make you feel like today was worth living if you did it?


I know these are hard question, but answering them will be the door to a fulfilling and worthwhile life.


Write some actions you can take towards your goal today. Do them today. Then enjoy the feeling of accomplishment - the best kind of dopamine rush.


.


If you don't do today the things you truly want, you will never do them, because every day you will live will be... today.
11 views
bottom of page