top of page

Display


One summer day last year, I saw my cousin's laptop, and it had a full HD display. Everything was absurdly small. I was convinced it was impossible to see anything, or at least uncomfortable and tiring for the eyes to look at buttons, icons and text that appeared to me as mere colorful smudges of "I can't understand anything". (I did have my glasses on!)

A few months later, there I was, buying a laptop with the same provocative statement printed on its tag: full HD display. All excited for my new purchase, I started to transfer my files, to install all the software I wanted, in short - to customize it to my own likings. Except that... my display displayed stuff just like the usual displays I'd seen. When I realized that, I was a bit puzzled - wasn't my display supposed to show things ridiculously tiny?

But I guess I was a bit glad that everything looked just like I was used to see it: loud and clear. Well, big... and clear. Surprisingly, I shortly forgot about it. Completely.

A few days ago, I was helping my cousin and his wife clean their old apartment since they were moving out the next day. Music was on, work was getting done, and we were having a good time together. At one point, I went to put another song on. And then I saw it again.

I asked about it, of course, and soon enough I acquired the information needed to make the shift. Arrived home, I cast the magic spell I'd learned, and my screen smoothly morphed into a vast, spacious canvas. The icons that once stretched from one end of my desktop to the other, were now filling only a third of the top row, which was also considerably thinner. So much space everywhere!

Just the way I like it.

Besides, while I was expecting to get used to this, it surprised me to see how fast and subtle the adaptation process is. For about a day or two, I was really excited about the change, enjoying the convenience it brought, savoring the power of the full HD resolution.

I still like it. I'm not switching back to the old style, no way. It's just that... it looks completely normal to me now. I don't even think it's a bit small. Yeah. Pretty fascinating, if you ask me.

19 views
bottom of page