top of page

The Spark


It gets late

all the time,

I wonder why.

Wish I would

close my eyes

the first time

the thought comes to mind.

But this vacuum is deep

and I get stuck in it.

Wasting time,

I am waiting on him.

Sometimes just daydreaming

instead of just dreaming,

Like I'm supposed to

cause it's night

and that's what you do.

And then I freak out,

it's late,

I still have to do that today.

I look at the clock

then away.

I'm not supposed to be awake.

I won't be doing that thing

It's too late.

I get ready for bed

But things jump in my way

And everything looks inviting

A guitar, a book, an empty page.

it's like they're waiting

a response to their calling.

And sometimes I do.

Sometimes, like now,

I'm ignoring my mind

that's trying to get me to do

the thing I know that is good.

And I listen to that spark

that wants to get out in the dark,

shine a light all on its own,

to become one with the unknown.

Unknown - unless..

There's someone just like you

Who finds the way to here,

brave enough to come near,

Who sees that little spark

shining in the dark,

Who takes the time to listen

all that it has to say,

Who understands the meaning

of doing things today.

Is anything on Earth

less certain than tomorrow?

Is anything we value

less than this precious thing?

We think it's always there,

it's ours every day.

But that's not true,

And someday...

Tomorrow will not be.

So take some time to think

that every single blink

could be the last of them.

Spend your time with care

And on your final day

You'll be ready to go,

cause you'll have finished the show.

.

.

.

Okay, sooo... this is kind of a weird poem. I wrote it way too late in the night and all in one sitting, without refining it much. It's just thoughts poured out in rhyming lines format :)

| written in April 2017

16 views
bottom of page