top of page

Read it later


I find too many videos, photos, music, books and blog articles that interest me. Or that I think are useful, important to remember and good to have handy. But there's never enough time for them all. So you just end up with a million tabs open.

When I didn't have my own laptop, I would just read/watch/listen the thing on the spot, if I had the time. When I got my own laptop, I started bookmarking stuff on my browser. After a year or two, it had become a complete disaster. I had to scroll through an enormous list of bookmarks, because, of course, I hadn't used any folders to classify them. I would sometimes go through them and delete some that I didn't need/like or were relevant anymore. I would still have about 100 left. I couldn't fully see some of their names, because they were too long to fit in the drop-down list in Chrome.

Then, I discovered Pocket.

Pocket is "your place to quickly save, discover, and recommend the stories that interest you". It also has a browser extension, and with a single click you can save the page you are viewing to Pocket. You can add tags to it, remove or archive it - all from the extension. I bookmarked my Pocket queue (and it's a long one :)) ) to my bookmarks bar, and when I need something I know I've saved to Pocket, I can quickly reach it. There is a search function in Pocket which is extremely handy. Can't forget to mention there is a mobile app too, with lots of interesting features (like moods). Now, I definitely have too many things saved in there, and the story about me going through them, spring-cleaning, trying to de-clutter is repeating here too. But, it's so much better than bookmarks. I know I can always easily find what I am looking for and I don't mind saving as many things in there, because I know I can delete them with a click.

About the bookmarks bar: I use it a lot too. Just differently. When people usually want to go on a website, they type in the first few letters and hit enter, hoping the browser will complete the url (correctly), which it does (most of the time). There are also 'Frequently visited' or other types of shortcuts available on different browsers. But what I find to work the best for me, is to have them saved in my bookmarks bar. I give each website a short name, an acronym or just a dot (I recognize them by the icons) and so I have each website available at any second, one click away. And no more kilometers of bookmarks. All nice and clean.

This is not an ad, sponsored post or anything. I just like Pocket.

9 views
bottom of page